Log in

No account? Create an account
A Guide To The '08 Presidential Election
& Where The Candidates Stand On The Issues
The Iowa Caucus Update 
3rd-Jan-2008 11:32 pm
The results are in for Iowa:
Democrat: Barack Obama
Republican: Mike Huckabee
Bear in mind that there has only been ONE President elected after winning his party's caucus in Iowa. Only one. Ever.*

And that was GWB in 2000.

Bill Clinton only got 3% of the votes in 1992, and came in 5th place - he also lost New Hampshire and South Dakota. "Unknown/Uncertain" won more votes than he did. Some guy named Paul Tarkin (who?) and George H Bush won Iowa in 1992. George H Bush and Jimmy Carter won in 1980. Bob Dole and Richard Gephardt won in 1988.

*Not counting incumbents; the incumbent president has always won his party's nomination in Iowa.
4th-Jan-2008 04:38 am (UTC)
Rev Huck batting for the Repugnicans would be manna from Heaven indeed.

I think Obama's campaign is likely "Dean-fizzle"
This page was loaded Apr 19th 2018, 11:30 am GMT.